About VDS

Willem (born and raised in Machelen) and José (originating from Turnhout) met each other at a prom in Machelen. After a few dates the spark hit on at Diegem fair. José decided to leave her hometown Turnhout to be closer to her big love. The couple got married in 1952 and in 1955 José gave birth to their only child, a baby boy called William.

During 10 years Willem was working at brewer Melin in Vilvoorde but, due to circumstances, he had to quit this job. He found himself a new one at Shell. José went working in a lacefactory called Marcelis in Machelen. The brewer virus got Willem very strong and in the back of his head he kept on dreaming about this job.

In 1967, during one of his rounds for Shell, het met a representative of the brewery of Haacht. He tolled this man about his dream. By co-incidence they just had a free place to take over rounds from another brewer in Haren. The only disadvantage was that this had to be done on an independent base.

José decided to quit her job so Willem could finally go for his dream. Willem kept his work at Shell, the rounds they did together before or after his work. José, who had never driven a car before, went to the community house for her drivers license C and the adventure could start… The stock was kept in a garage in the Melkstraat.

During their first rounds we talk about a delivery of 10 crates over 2 weeks. The first clients were individuals were they brought the drinks at home. The business was growing quickly and after 2 years, in 1969, Willem decided to quit his job at Shell too. They took over more clients from another brewer. Due to this expansion they were obliged to search for a bigger place to keep there stock. They found this in Diegem. Unfortunately they had to leave this building due to expropriation whereafter they moved to their current building in the Melkstraat.

truckDuring his teenage years son William helped his parents in his free hours and holidays. At the age of 18 he decided to quit school and started working in the family business, he also was caught by the brewers virus. William had found the love of his life, Chris who was originating from Etterbeek. After 6 months of courtship she was presented to José and Willem who embraced her in the family at first sight.  More, when William had to perform military duty in 1974, Chris joined the company and went on the road with José. William and Chris got married in May 1975 and there son Jurgen was born in October of that year.

When William finished his military duty he took over the rounds of his mother José. At that moment they had as well individual clients as companies in there customer files. With dribs and drabs they also found their way to the pubs to deliver their products.  The customer file was growing and they were not able anymore to do everything by their own, they were obliged to take some people in service.

At the beginning of the 90’s José and Willem decided to retire. William and Chris took over the business but as long as José and Willem were physical able to help they continued working on the background. It were the years were everything got optimized and the computer did his entrance.  It were very busy years were Chris and William were on the road during the days and the evenings were used to put in order their administration.

Grandson Jurgen, raised in a brewersfamily, got more and more interested for the brewerjob.  The big stockroom which was, as a young kid, his favourite playground were he drove hours with his go-cart, got his attention.

As from the age of 12 he helped his parents during his holidays and free time. After a career in telecom he decided to get in to the business in 2006. In 2008 he became the managing director. Since Jurgen is on top there has been a big growth of the customer file.  Jurgen choose an all-round approach which is more focused on pubs an expanded the range completely. At this moment VDS drinks offers a big choice in beers, soda, wines and liquor. We are here for as well individuals, companies and pubs.

Our current building in the Melkstraat is becoming too small that’s why we can tell you, with proud, that we will move to our completely new building in Melsbroek in the summer of 2017. Also in 2017 we will celebrate our 50th anniversary.

A propos de VDS

Willem (originaire de Machelen) et José (originaire de Turnhout) ont fait connaissance à un bal à Machelen. Après quelques rendez-vous l’étincelle devenant une flamme au cours de Diegem Kermis. José decidait de quitter Turnhout pour être près de son grand amour. Le couple se mariait en 1952 et en 1955 ils acceuillaient leur fils William.

Willem a travaillé pendant 10 ans auprès du brasseur Melin à Vilvorde, mais devait, dû à des circonstances, rechercher un autre boulot, job qu’il trouvait à la firme Shell. José commencait à travailler dans l’usine de dentelles Marcelis à Machelen. Le virus de brasseur avait bien attrapé Willem et dans le derrière de sa tête restait le rêve de pouvoir, à nouveau, exécuter ce métier.

En 1967, pendant une de ses tournées pur shell, au cours d’une causette avec un représentant de la brasserie Haecht, il rancontait son rêve. Par hazard on recherchait quelqu’un pour reprendre une tournée à Haren, mais sur base d’indépendant.

José décidait de quitter son travail et donner cette chance à Willem. Willem continuait à travailler chez Shell. José, qui n’avait jamais conduit une voiture, allait demander à la maison communale pour demanders son permis C et … l’aventure pouvait commencer!

Le stock était gardé dans un garage, situé dans le Melkstraat. Pendant les premières tournées nous parlons d’une livraison de 10 bacs per 2 semaines. Il s’agissait ici de livraisons à des particuliers. La firme s’agrandissait toutefois très vite et en 1969 Willem disait adieu à son job chez Shell. Ils reprenaient également les clients particuliers d’un ami brasseur. Par cette expansion ils étaient obligés de déménager à un immeuble plus grand, trouvé à Diegem. Ils ont dû quitter cet immeuble dans les années 70 par une expropriation et se sont installés définitivement dans l’immeuble actuel dans le Melkstraat.

Le fils William aidait, étant encore très jeune, dans l’affaire pendant ses vacances et temps libre. A 18 ans il décidait de quitter l’école et travailler définitivement avec ses parents, car il avait également attrapé le virus brasseur. Entretemps, William avait également trouvé le grand amour, Chris originaire d’Etterbeek. Aprés 6 mois de fréquentation, Chris a été prensentée à José et Willem, qui l’ont adaptée immédiatement. Plus, quand William a dû faire son service militaire en 1974, Chris est entrée dans l’affaire et a fait la tournée avec José. William et Chris se sont mariés en mai 1975 et en octobre leur fils Jurgen est né.

truckQuand William avait terminé son service militaire , il a repris la tournée de José. A ce moments les clients étaient surtout des particuliers et des firmes. Petit à petit le horeca s’ajoutait. Le nombre de clients augementait constamment et ils  étaient ainsi obligés d’engager du personnel afin de venir à bout de tout le travail.

Début les années 90 José et Willem trouvaient qu’ils avaient travaillé assez et prenaient leur pension. William et Chris se chargeaient de la firme, mais José et Willem ont continue à aider dans les coulisses aussi lontemps que possible physiquement.c’était également la période où tout automatisé et que les ordinateurs ont fait leur entrée. Ces periods étaient très pesantes,  pendant la journée William et Chris faisaient la route et le soir, jusqu’à très tard, il devaient mettre de l’ordre dans leur administration.

Petit-fils Jurgen, élévé dans une famille de brasseurs, s’intéressait de plus en plus pour le métier de brasseur. Le magasin, qui était avant sa salle de jeu préférée, où il jouait, petit garçon, avec son go-cart, avait attirée son attention.

A partir de ses 12 ans il aidait ses parent pendant les vacances et son temps libre. En 2006, après une carriére dans le secteur télécom, il entrait dan l’affaire familiale. En 2008 il devenait le directeur. Depuis que Jurgen est à la barre, la liste des clients s’est agrandie énormément. Jurgen a choisi une façon d’aborderall-round, qui s’oriente plus vers le horeca et a chargi l’assortiment complètement.

A ce jour, VDS Drinks offre un grand choix de bières, boissons non alcoolisés, vins et spiritueux. Vous pouvez vous addresser à nous pour fourniture à des firmes, des particuliers et l’horeca.

L’immeuble actuel dans le Melkstraat est devenu trop petit: nous sommes fiers de vous annoncer que mi-2017 nous déménagerons dans nos bâtiments tout neufs, situés à Melsbroek, chaussée de Haecht. En même temps nous fëterons en 2017 nos 50 ans d’existance.